Lana Insurance Center Inc

1259 South Broad St
Wallingford, CT 06492

Get Directions

Will auto insurance cover property damage to my own home?

Auto insurance provides drivers with many different benefits. From liability coverage to coverage for damage to your own car, auto insurance is a wise investment. Even if you opt to purchase the state minimum auto insurance coverage, and nothing more, you have many benefits and protections.

As with anything, however, there are a few areas where your auto insurance wouldn’t provide any coverage. Our team at Lana Insurance Center Inc. in Wallingford, CT understands that drivers often have a lot of questions when it comes to what’s covered under their auto insurance policy. We’re here to eliminate the confusion. 

What’s Covered Under a Standard Connecticut Auto Insurance Policy?

If you plan on legally driving within the state of Connecticut, you are required to carry auto insurance. In order to meet the state’s minimum auto insurance requirements, you must carry bodily injury liability at $25K per person and $50K per accident. By state law, you must also purchase property damage liability coverage at $25K per accident. These are the state minimum auto insurance coverage requirements, which means you can always purchase more than the minimum. You can also purchase auto insurance that will provide medical coverage as well as pay for damage to your own car.

What’s Missing?

You may not notice that there’s no provision or coverage for damage you may cause to your own property while driving. If you’re a homeowner, you may have coverage for damage to your own property under your homeowner’s insurance. However, if you don’t own a home, or don’t have homeowners insurance, you may find yourself without coverage for this type of accident. Auto insurance policies typically don’t include coverage for damage to your own property. As a result, it may be a good idea to speak with a member of our team from Lana Insurance Center Inc. in Wallingford, CT.

One of our team members can help you determine the best insurance coverage for property damage. Give us a call. We’re standing by.

Auto Insurance: The Impact of Careless Driving on Your Driving Record

Everybody knows that careless driving can have an impact on your driving record, and on your auto insurance policy. Careless driving in most states is defined as driving without care or driving without having a reasonable consideration on the roads. It is not the same thing as dangerous driving which means that you are posing an actual danger to the public when you are on the road.

The consequences of careless driving are steep and could impact your driving life for some time.

At Lana Insurance Center Inc., we know that mistakes happen. We can help you to design the auto insurance policy that will best meet your needs.

What is Careless Driving?

Careless driving is about not taking reasonable measures to be safe on the road. It involves those careless mistakes that happen when you aren’t paying attention. You don’t mean to do it, but you are acting without the care you should have on the road.

It could include not checking your mirrors, speeding, problems with cyclists or pedestrians, running red lights, texting, and driving, or failing to maintain a safe distance.

Penalties for careless driving could include driving points on your record, heavy fines, suspended license, and even jail depending on the circumstance.

Careless Driving and Auto Insurance

When you have been convicted of careless driving, that will have an impact on both your driving record and your auto insurance. Even a ticket for careless driving will mean a conviction. That will stay on your driving record for years and will impact your auto insurance for just as long.

Get a Quote

When you have a careless driving conviction, it is not impossible to get insurance, but you will need help with your auto insurance policy. Call Lana Insurance Center Inc. today to get the best quote for your auto insurance after there’s been an impact on your driving record.

Auto Insurance Requirement in Connecticut

Like most states, Connecticut has auto insurance requirements, and if you drive with no insurance, you risk getting severe penalties. Fines range from $100 to $1000 if you encounter a traffic stop and get caught driving without your registration and auto insurance. Other violations for driving without auto insurance in Connecticut include getting a warning notice from the DMV’s office that will offer you a chance to get auto insurance along with the offer to pay a $200 fine to avoid further penalties. Also, a hearing may be required if you do not respond to the DMV’s first warning. 

Connecticut’s Auto Insurance Requirements

It would be best if you had auto liability insurance with the following minimum limitations: 

  • $25,000 per accident for each person with bodily injury
  • $50,000 total for each accident for bodily injury
  • $25,000 for property damage for each accident
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage for $25,000 per person and a total of $50,000 per accident

There are other auto insurance coverage options in Connecticut, but liability insurance is the minimum required. 


As with most states, Connecticut also has auto insurance requirements, and you will be at great risk of getting severe penalties if you drive with no insurance. You will get warning letters from Connecticut’s DMV with various offerings, and you may get a traffic stop and various fine amounts. So, don’t get caught without the requirements for auto insurance. 

For more information about auto insurance, contact Lana Insurance Center Inc. today. Agents at Lana Insurance Center Inc. has several decades of experience. Located in Wallington, CT, you will be in good hands with our team making sure you are properly covered. Contact us now!

Our Partners
  • Guard
  • Liberty Mutual
  • Metlife
  • Nationwide
  • Progressive
  • State Auto
  • Travelers